NB_430_21_3 - NB 430-21-3 SOI – National Cooperative Soil Survey (NCSS) 2021 Awards
NB 430-21-3 SOI – National Cooperative Soil Survey (NCSS) 2021 Awards
National Bulletin: 430-31-3  Date: February 12, 2021
Subject: SOI – National Cooperative Soil Survey (NCSS) 2021 Awards

Action Required By:   April 15, 2021
Purpose.  To request nominees for the 2021 National Cooperative Soil Survey (NCSS) Awards: The Scientist of the Year Award, the Scientist Achievement Award, and the Cooperator Achievement Award.  
Expiration Date.  September 30, 2021
Background.  In 1999, the centennial year of the NCSS, the Soil Survey Division (now the Soil and Plant Science Division) initiated two awards for scientists involved in the soil survey program. In 2019, the criteria for the two awards was expanded to include other technical specialties in NCSS. The awards included both technical soil and ecological site services and project soil and ecological site survey work: the NCSS Soil Scientist of the Year (now NCSS Scientist of the Year) and the NCSS Soil Scientist Achievement Award (now NCSS Scientist Achievement Award). Maggie Payne, NRCS, Resource Soil Scientist, Wareham, MA was the 2020 recipient of the NCSS Scientist of the Year Award. Chad Remley, NRCS, Soil Survey Regional Director, Salina, KS was the 2020 recipient of the NCSS Scientist Achievement Award.

In 2005, an additional NCSS Cooperator Achievement Award was added. Robert Vaughan, Team Manager, Terrestrial Ecological Unit Inventory, U.S. Forest Service, was the recipient of the 2020 NCSS Cooperator Achievement Award. Nominees for the NCSS Cooperator Achievement Award have made significant contributions in at least one of the following areas: soil survey or ecological site production, training of soil or ecological scientists, or research that has enhanced the NCSS program.
Explanation.   Attached are explanations relating to the purpose of these awards, eligibility, criteria, and nominating procedures. Award nomination guidance for the three awards is in Attachment A. The nomination form is in attachment B. Previous award recipients are included in attachment C. It is important that time is taken to prepare and submit high-quality nominations. We are asking States to share this bulletin and the attachments with NCSS cooperators and encourage nominations for any of the awards. Nominations, Attachment B, should be emailed to David Lindbo, Director, Soil and Plant Science Division, no later than April 15, 2021. Nominations for awards will be accepted from any individual, agency, or group in the NCSS. Approval by the State Conservationist, Division or Center directors, Soil Survey regional director, or other Federal, State, or private team leader is recommended.  
Contact.  If you have any questions or concerns, contact David L. Lindbo, Director, Soil and Plant Science Division, at (202) 720-1820 or by email at david.lindbo@usda.gov


Deputy Chief for Soil Science and Resource Assessment 

Attachment A – Award Guidance

Attachment B – Award Form

Attachment C – Past Recipients of NCSS Awards

[NB_430_21_3 - ]